Imagine: A conversation

“Imagine there’s no heaven. It’s easy if you try.”

“Oh yeah, right, I’ve heard this one before. Now why on God’s green earth would I want to do that? Are you in some kind of satanic cult?”

“No hell below us. Above us only sky.”

“Wo, didn’t see that coming. What, so you don’t believe in hell either? Oh right, so you’re saying  you want me to imagine there’s no heaven, (which in itself is ludicrous as you OBVIOUSLY need to do some reading) and now you’re saying that above us is only sky? What about Jesus?”

“Imagine all the people living for today…”

“What does that even mean? Living for today… Of course I’m living today!”

“Imagine there’s no countries,”

“You’ve got to be kidding right?”

“It isn’t hard to do.”

“Easy for you to say, you’re clearly in a satanic cult.”

“Nothing to kill or die for,”

“Now hold it right there! What about the terrorists? Like, do you even watch the news?! And die for? Well I’d die defending my country, and my god, the ones you’ve asked me to imagine don’t exist… This guy.”

“and no religion too.”

“Yeah, you said that already.”

“Imagine all the people living life in peace…”

“We all ARE living in peace, all the ones that want it anyway. Anyone who isn’t likely deserves it. Like terrorists. Except for some of those kids in Africa, that’s why I donate every christmas.”

“You may say I’m a dreamer,”

“You smoked the Marijuana didn’t you!”

“but I’m not the only one.”

“You’ll go to jail! All of you!”

“I hope someday you’ll join us, and the world will be as one”

“What? We’ll all be in the same weird anti-god, anti-country cult, smoking the Marijuana?”

“Imagine no possessions, I wonder if you can.”

“Far out! You are getting on my nerves. Again, why would I want to do that? I just saved up enough to get my windscreen tinted on my SUV, so it’ll match my widescreen T.V., and now you want to take that away from me?! COMMUNIST!”

“No need for greed or hunger;”

“What, so everyone’s well fed, and no one wants more? You may actually have a point there.”

“A brotherhood of man.”

“Now if you’re stoning or something… Is that from the bible? It is isn’t it?”

“Imagine all the people sharing all the world…”

“Now I really like your sentimentality, but that’s simply not possible. There’s just not enough to go around… Is there? I had a dream once that was like that, but the president says we’ve got to tighten our belts if we’re going to get through this bad patch. Even if everything you keep saying was possible, you’d need, like, everyone, or at least a whole damn lot of people to get on board this Commie scheme of yours.”

“You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.”

“Really?! How many of you are there?! There can’t be that many of you. Right? …Right?”

“…I hope someday you’ll join us, and the world will live as one.”

“Pffft…”

Leave a Reply

